The following interview was conducted somewhere in Mushin.

 

What’s your name and what do you do?
My name is Azzez and I’m training to become a mechanic

Do you drink or smoke?
Yes, I drink. But I don’t smoke

What do you drink?

(clears throat) Ehn…ogogoro, beer….

When did you start drinking?
When I was 13

How old are you now?
I’m 17

How did it start? Why do you drink?
My oga drinks and I see him. (laughs) I don’t know, I just like it. It’s sweet.

Any benefit derived from it?
It helps me to gbera (laughs). It helps me to dance, makes me feel good.

Any regret about taking alcohol
Yes. I know it’s not good. I heard that it used to spoil a person’s kidney. I know of one man that died in LUTH sometime ago because of kidney failure and the man drinks alot…I don’t want that to happen to me.

But you still drink despite knowing it’s not good?

(grins) well…I don’t drink much, I just like to drink.

Do you think you can control your use of alcohol or stop it entirely?
I can control my usage, I don’t know of stopping.

Any other thing?

Nothing o. Alcohol is sweet, but e no good.

Alright, thank you for your time, Azzez, God bless you

Amen o! and you too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Do You drink? – Azzez’s story

Leave a Reply

