The sovereign Lord has given me

the capacity to be His spokesman,

so that I know how to help the weary.

He wakes me up every morning;

He makes me alert so I can listen

attentively as disciples do.

 

The sovereign Lord has spoken to me clearly;

I have not rebelled,

I have not turned back.

I offered my back to those who attacked,

my jaws to those who tore out my beard;

I did not hide my face

from insults and spitting.

 

But the sovereign Lord helps me,

so I am not humiliated.

For that reason I am steadfastly resolved;

I know I will not be put to shame.

 

 

Leave a Reply

