We would be critically analysing Matt. 18:21-35, the story of The Unforgiving servant. Firstly, let me briefly recount the story.

A king wanted to settle his accounts and in the process discovered one of is servants owed him 10,000 talents; who when summoned, couldn’t pay back. The king ordered this servant sold along with all he owned. The servant immediately fell to his knees and begged for mercy and the king greatly moved not only forgave him, but also cancelled his debt.

As this servant stepped out from the king’s presence, he met a colleague, who owed him a 100 pence. The servant seized this colleague by the throat and demanded he paid what he owed. The man couldn’t, so he threw himself at the feet of the servant and begged for time. But the servant was adamant and threw the man into jail till he paid what he owed.

Now some of their friends who had witnessed all that had happened that day, from the king’s palace to the other colleague who now sat in jail, felt agitated about it all and took the matter to the king to settle. The king was outraged! He ordered the servant to be brought and had him jailed till he could pay every single dime he owed..

To understand this story very well, let’s take note of the money the servant owed and the money he was owed. It is safe to say that the money wasn’t of the same currency, some conversion needed to be done. So if I said the servant owed 10,000 dollars and was owed 100 naira in returns, we would get the picture a bit more clearly. Isn’t it funny how most of us as readers (i.e observers) will be quick to judge the servant calling him all manner of names: wicked, selfish, tight-fisted, aka-gum etc…but we forget, that God deals with this same problem everyday from us. He forgave us of our enormous debt, but we turn back just too quickly and to begrudge another man for the offence made against us. Isn’t that illogical?

Something else struck me in this story; the other friends who were watching all that unfolded. As Christians, meaning to teach another man a lesson, we forget that people are watching, muttering amongst themselves: “Isn’t he a Christian?” “Isn’t she the one who invites us to church?” “What kind of God does she serve?” and God isn’t deaf…neither is he blind. You can’t dent the image of God or soil his name…He is far too holy for that and rather than condone your irrationality, He turns away from you. Jesus confirmed this in the concluding part of this story: “So my father won’t forgive any man who refuses to forgive his fellow.” And that’s how we find ourselves struggling with one problem or the other, wondering if at all God’s watching.

And this led me to discovery three: Most often than not, we are the cause of our closed heaven. We are like the servant: we sin, we turn to God, He forgives us and sets us free…someone offends us, we refuse to forgive, we take ourselves back to our bondage. Don’t let anyone deceive you, unforgiveness is not tolerated in heaven! Forgiveness is a kingdom principle! It’s the principle by which we attained liberty in the first place and it works in one way: Forgive just as I have forgiven you. If you don’t forgive, you won’t be forgiven. In order words, you tie God’s hands to your case.

I remember one time when I begrudged my roommates for things I can’t even remember. One thing was sure however for me at that time, I couldn’t see God. I was struggling and I am not talking about a small struggle, it was like I had a weight permanently tied to my back – I couldn’t move, couldn’t read, couldn’t write…nothing made sense. I was always looking stressed out physically, defensive, on the verge of crying; I will admit I cried some few nights. I remember one night in fellowship, we were praying and I tried to pray. But oh boy, my mouth felt like it had been stuffed with gravel, nothing was coming out. That day when I got to my room, I went to my balcony and God knows how long I stayed out there just crying. I couldn’t pray, there wasn’t any appeal. I couldn’t figure out what the problem was but I knew there was a disconnect and I knew it had been long term but I had been too busy to notice or amend. So I sat there, just crying till I was really tired and I went in to sleep.

The next day, I called up a friend and we went for a walk. Thank God for those walks…I have encountered God so many times just by walking. So, my friend looked at me and said, “Mhen, Kene, you look super-stressed and don’t tell me it’s school work or exco duty because this seems like a deep-hearted kind of stress.” Together we started tracing the problem and somehow we landed on my roommates and I just went off into my A-game complaining mode, recounting all the wrongs committed against me. He cut me off all of a sudden, “That, Kene, is where you’ve missed it with God and that’s is your disconnect right there.” He said and honestly till he pointed it out and started explaining, it had never occurred to me.

I went back to my room and cried one last time, but this time I did my crying on my knees and straight to heaven. The first I did was let go in my heart and I can remember, very very vividly that when I opened my eyes, it was like someone put out a fresh rose for me to sniff…the day was so bright and so was everything inside of me. I talked with my roommates some days later. They didn’t understand a thing of what I was saying because like I suspected, it was a one-sided grudge from my end. God bless them, I realized I was the only one suffering for nothing. One big lesson, I took away from that experience was that unforgiveness is a weight! A weight at first that looks like a small insignificant thing but as it grows and fester, can sink us faster than a leaking ship.

Dear reader, no one and I mean no one and nothing is worth your relationship with God. There is no offence made against you that is worth holding on to at the expense of your salvation. Forgive, let go…life’s too fragile to be carrying around stupid weight. Forgive and do not get tired of forgiving as Jesus advised Peter in Matt.18:21, forgive 490 times if you have to and if that isn’t enough, keep forgiving.

I pray the Holy spirit expands this topic in our hearts and in our walk with Him.

Amen.

Thanks and God bless.

We would be critically analyzing Matt. 18:21-35, The Unforgiving servant. Let me briefly recount the story. i.e names are added to make the story a bit more personal.

A king wanted to settle his accounts and in the process discovered one of is servants owed him 10,000 talents; who when summoned, couldn’t pay back. The king ordered this servant sold along with all he owned. The servant immediately fell to his knees and begged for mercy and the king greatly moved not only forgave him, but also cancelled his debt.

As this servant stepped out from the king’s presence, he met another a colleague, who owed him a 100 pence. The servant seized his colleague by the throat and demanded the man paid what he owed. The man couldn’t and so he threw himself at the feet of the servant and begged for mercy. But the servant was adamant and threw the man into jail till he paid what he owed.

Now some of their friends who had witnessed all that had happened that day, from the king’s palace to the other colleague who now sat in jail felt agitated about it all and took the matter to the king to settle. The king was outraged! He ordered the servant to be brought and had him jailed till he could pay every single dime he owed..

To understand this story very well, let’s take note of the money the servant owed and the money he was owed. It is safe to say that the money wasn’t of the same currency, some conversion needed to be done. So if I said the servant owed 10,000 dollars and was owed #100 in naira in returns, we would get the picture a bit more clearly. Isn’t it funny how most of us as readers (i.e observers) will be quick to judge the servant calling him all manner of names: wicked, selfish, tight-fisted, aka-gum etc…but we forget, that God deals with this same problem everyday from us. He forgave us of our enormous debt, but we turn back just too quickly and begin to begrudge another man for his offence against us. Isn’t that illogical?

Something else struck me in this story; the other friends who were watching all that unfolded…as Christians, meaning to teach another man a lesson, we forget that people are watching, muttering amongst themselves: “Isn’t he a Christian?” “Isn’t she the one who invites us to church?” “What kind of God does she serve?” and God isn’t deaf…neither is he blind. You can’t dent the image of God or soil his name…He is far too holy for that and rather than condone your irrationality, He turns away from you. Jesus confirmed this in the concluding part of this story: “So my father won’t forgive any man who refuses to forgive his fellow.” And that’s how we find ourselves struggling with one problem or the other, wondering if at all God’s watching.

And this led me to discovery three: Most often than not, we are the cause of our closed heaven. We are like the servant: we sin, we turn to God, He forgives us and sets us free…someone offends us, we refuse to forgive, we take ourselves back to our bondage. Don’t let anyone deceive you, unforgiveness is not tolerated in heaven! Forgiveness is a kingdom principle! It’s the principle by which we attained liberty in the first place and it works in one way: Forgive just as I have forgiven you. If you don’t forgive, you won’t be forgiven. In order words, you tie God’s hands to your case.

I remember one time when I begrudged my roommates for things I can’t even remember. One thing was sure however for me at that time, I couldn’t see God. I was struggling and I am not talking about a small struggle, it was like I had a weight permanently tied to my back – I couldn’t move, couldn’t read, couldn’t write…nothing made sense. I was always looking stressed out physically, defensive, on the verge of crying; I will admit I cried some few nights. I remember one night in fellowship, we were praying and I tried to pray. But oh boy, my mouth felt like it had been stuffed with gravel, nothing was coming out. That day when I got to my room, I went to my balcony and God knows how long I stayed out there just crying. I couldn’t pray, there wasn’t any appeal. I couldn’t figure out what the problem was but I knew there was a disconnect and I knew it had been long term but I had been too busy to notice or amend. So I sat there, just crying till I was really tired and I went in to sleep.

The next day, I called up a friend and we went for a walk. Thank God for those walks…I have encountered God so many times just by walking. So, my friend looked at me and said, “Mhen, Kene, you look super-stressed and don’t tell me it’s school work or exco duty because this seems like a deep-hearted kind of stress.” Together we started tracing the problem and somehow we landed on my roommates and I just went off into my A-game complaining mode, recounting all the wrongs committed against me. He cut me off all of a sudden, “That, Kene, is where you’ve missed it with God and that’s is your disconnect right there.” He said and honestly till he pointed it out and started explaining, it had never occurred to me.

I went back to my room and cried one last time, but this time I did my crying on my knees and straight to heaven. The first I did was let go in my heart and I can remember, very very vividly that when I opened my eyes, it was like someone put out a fresh rose for me to sniff…the day was so bright and so was everything inside of me. I talked with my roommates some days later. They didn’t understand a thing of what I was saying because like I suspected, it was a one-sided grudge from my end. God bless them, I realized I was the only one suffering for nothing. One big lesson, I took away from that experience was that unforgiveness is a weight! A weight at first that looks like a small insignificant thing but as it grows and fester, can sink us faster than a leaking ship.

Dear reader, no one and I mean no one and nothing is worth your relationship with God. There is no offence made against you that is worth holding on to at the expense of your salvation. Forgive, let go…life’s too fragile to be carrying around stupid weight. Forgive and do not get tired of forgiving as Jesus advised Peter in Matt.18:21, forgive 490 times if you have to and if that isn’t enough, keep forgiving.

I pray the Holy spirit expands this topic in our hearts and in our walk with Him.

Amen.

Thanks and God bless.

We would be critically analyzing Matt. 18:21-35, The Unforgiving servant. Let me briefly recount the story. i.e names are added to make the story a bit more personal.

A king wanted to settle his accounts and in the process discovered one of is servants owed him 10,000 talents; who when summoned, couldn’t pay back. The king ordered this servant sold along with all he owned. The servant immediately fell to his knees and begged for mercy and the king greatly moved not only forgave him, but also cancelled his debt.

As this servant stepped out from the king’s presence, he met another a colleague, who owed him a 100 pence. The servant seized his colleague by the throat and demanded the man paid what he owed. The man couldn’t and so he threw himself at the feet of the servant and begged for mercy. But the servant was adamant and threw the man into jail till he paid what he owed.

Now some of their friends who had witnessed all that had happened that day, from the king’s palace to the other colleague who now sat in jail felt agitated about it all and took the matter to the king to settle. The king was outraged! He ordered the servant to be brought and had him jailed till he could pay every single dime he owed..

To understand this story very well, let’s take note of the money the servant owed and the money he was owed. It is safe to say that the money wasn’t of the same currency, some conversion needed to be done. So if I said the servant owed 10,000 dollars and was owed #100 in naira in returns, we would get the picture a bit more clearly. Isn’t it funny how most of us as readers (i.e observers) will be quick to judge the servant calling him all manner of names: wicked, selfish, tight-fisted, aka-gum etc…but we forget, that God deals with this same problem everyday from us. He forgave us of our enormous debt, but we turn back just too quickly and begin to begrudge another man for his offence against us. Isn’t that illogical?

Something else struck me in this story; the other friends who were watching all that unfolded…as Christians, meaning to teach another man a lesson, we forget that people are watching, muttering amongst themselves: “Isn’t he a Christian?” “Isn’t she the one who invites us to church?” “What kind of God does she serve?” and God isn’t deaf…neither is he blind. You can’t dent the image of God or soil his name…He is far too holy for that and rather than condone your irrationality, He turns away from you. Jesus confirmed this in the concluding part of this story: “So my father won’t forgive any man who refuses to forgive his fellow.” And that’s how we find ourselves struggling with one problem or the other, wondering if at all God’s watching.

And this led me to discovery three: Most often than not, we are the cause of our closed heaven. We are like the servant: we sin, we turn to God, He forgives us and sets us free…someone offends us, we refuse to forgive, we take ourselves back to our bondage. Don’t let anyone deceive you, unforgiveness is not tolerated in heaven! Forgiveness is a kingdom principle! It’s the principle by which we attained liberty in the first place and it works in one way: Forgive just as I have forgiven you. If you don’t forgive, you won’t be forgiven. In order words, you tie God’s hands to your case.

I remember one time when I begrudged my roommates for things I can’t even remember. One thing was sure however for me at that time, I couldn’t see God. I was struggling and I am not talking about a small struggle, it was like I had a weight permanently tied to my back – I couldn’t move, couldn’t read, couldn’t write…nothing made sense. I was always looking stressed out physically, defensive, on the verge of crying; I will admit I cried some few nights. I remember one night in fellowship, we were praying and I tried to pray. But oh boy, my mouth felt like it had been stuffed with gravel, nothing was coming out. That day when I got to my room, I went to my balcony and God knows how long I stayed out there just crying. I couldn’t pray, there wasn’t any appeal. I couldn’t figure out what the problem was but I knew there was a disconnect and I knew it had been long term but I had been too busy to notice or amend. So I sat there, just crying till I was really tired and I went in to sleep.

The next day, I called up a friend and we went for a walk. Thank God for those walks…I have encountered God so many times just by walking. So, my friend looked at me and said, “Mhen, Kene, you look super-stressed and don’t tell me it’s school work or exco duty because this seems like a deep-hearted kind of stress.” Together we started tracing the problem and somehow we landed on my roommates and I just went off into my A-game complaining mode, recounting all the wrongs committed against me. He cut me off all of a sudden, “That, Kene, is where you’ve missed it with God and that’s is your disconnect right there.” He said and honestly till he pointed it out and started explaining, it had never occurred to me.

I went back to my room and cried one last time, but this time I did my crying on my knees and straight to heaven. The first I did was let go in my heart and I can remember, very very vividly that when I opened my eyes, it was like someone put out a fresh rose for me to sniff…the day was so bright and so was everything inside of me. I talked with my roommates some days later. They didn’t understand a thing of what I was saying because like I suspected, it was a one-sided grudge from my end. God bless them, I realized I was the only one suffering for nothing. One big lesson, I took away from that experience was that unforgiveness is a weight! A weight at first that looks like a small insignificant thing but as it grows and fester, can sink us faster than a leaking ship.

Dear reader, no one and I mean no one and nothing is worth your relationship with God. There is no offence made against you that is worth holding on to at the expense of your salvation. Forgive, let go…life’s too fragile to be carrying around stupid weight. Forgive and do not get tired of forgiving as Jesus advised Peter in Matt.18:21, forgive 490 times if you have to and if that isn’t enough, keep forgiving.

I pray the Holy spirit expands this topic in our hearts and in our walk with Him.

Amen.

Thanks and God bless.

Leave a Reply

