Why do Youths make money?

 

wp_ss_20150530_0008

Hello people, happy Monday and welcome to the 2nd episode of Making Money Staying Wealthy- Why do we make money. For this week, I decided to do a little interview, so I got talking with Folake, a 300 level Physiotherapy student, to find out how and why she made money.  We had quite an interesting short chat and I would love you to read and contribute:
Kene – Hi Folake, wadup?  Are you excited to be here?
Folake -I’m fine o, Kene. Well, I feel like I’m making a confession, but yeah, I would like to hear people dispute me.
Kene (laughs) – You’re ready to tackle any opponent, I like that spirit. So let’s get down to the task at hand. Shall we?
Folake (gesticulates with hands) – Oya, I’m game.
Kene – Folake, how do you make your cash? Are you into business?
Folake – I do small small business, but the turnover is still very little. I get capital, however from my paren (fakes French accent).
Kene – You get money from your parents? How?
Folake – Well, I ask them for money, how else? (pauses, then coughs) I add a little jara to the amount sha, just to get at least profit and interest on the money. It is called The Principle of gbaaing. It involves collecting extra cash from mumsi and popsi to make ends meet.
Kene (widens eyes)- Profit and interest, huh? True business woman. So, what do you use the profit and interest for?
Folake -Ha, Kene! My parents must not see this interview o! Well, profit for investment into my business and the interest for pleasure.
Kene – I like this. Kindly define pleasure?
Folake – Cooperate wear for this our Medilag, shoes, bags, hairstyles, food etc.
Kene (opens mouth) – So this is what you do? How much exactly is the profit and interest added to the original school expense?
Folake – Well, it depends on the needs for the semester. Too many buy buy, we add X10. Small buy buy, X5.
Kene – Wow! Does the cash last for the entire semester?
Folake (laughs) – You know how money is na, even when you try to save, it just vanishes.
Kene – I see! So how do you think your parent provide you with capital, profit and interest when money vanishes?
Folake (gets angry and stands up) – No o, Kene, don’t even start! Like you don’t do the same too (hisses). I am not doing anything wrong, let anyone come and ask me, I am not doing wrong. I am collecting my parents money for them, it’s my entitlement. I am their child! Tell me, is it wrong (hisses again and leaves).
Good point raised by an angry Folake. Our parents money is our own entitlement, we can collect capital, profit and interest from it. Is it wrong? What is your opinion?
P.s – you can also leave your own story in the comment box below. Thanks.

8 thoughts on “Making Money Staying Wealthy

  1. Wow, personally I don’t see no harm in interest and profits. But mehn some of us do it with no conscience, like you know what I mean.

    Personally I rarely find myself in that situation tho, maybe cos of the kind purse that pays my bills (giggles ).

  2. It depends, some parent don’t care about the welfarism of their wards when it comes to looking good in physical appearance, but they focus on educating them only which us the best, but we have forgotten that we need to take care off other things to make them comfortable and not covetous.

  3. Most of the time, parents do not understand some of the things we face in school even though most of them passed through the same system. They feel like things are the same as it was in their own time. The demand for money has increased through assignment, transportation, researches, feeding and even our own pleasure. The only way, or easiest way to make them understand that you need more money is usually by ‘gbaaing’ them. So I just think that folake ain’t wrong, she’s just trying to survive

  4. Common as it may be, it’s wrong to cheat our parents. If really our parents’ money is our entitlement, it means we are special to them, hence dubious means should not be used in collecting money from them. We would not be proud if we who our parents trust are discovered to have cheated them when we simply could have asked for it.

  5. I very much understand ppl’s point of view of d whole thing, I’ve been caught in dat b4…especially when I want to buy clothes or shoes dat r a bit expensive but I know is quality…my dad doesn’t believe in spending so much to buy clothing items so what I did then was to increase everything I pay for in sch; sch fees, money for txtbks(which I don’t end up buying, just collect softcopy) and even accommodation (hostel) fees. But come to think about it…I won’t put words under my tongue(fi oro s’abe ahon…#yoruba proverb)…DECEIT is deceit whether u say sheyb its still ur fada’s money n u r entitled to it…y don’t u just tell him straight, pops, I need money for dis n dat. Seriously, what is wrong is wrong, don’t try to justify urself coz u do it n still want to continue…I aint speaking out of innocence, I av done it, in fact, a lot…but it doesn’t change d fact dat its wrong except d purpose of d extra cash…is stated to such parent. for example u r moving into a new room in d hostel n u r not sure of how much u’ll spend and u need to start spending immediately n not wait for d room tinz to b completed b4 contributing, u can collect extra cash. So far d collection aint thru an honest means, its wrong. Since d parent don’t knw they were ‘gbaaed’, then its wrong. Finally, I’ll end my essay with this, to knw if smtn is right or wrong, ask urself ‘Would Jesus do such?’

  6. There is no doubt that we are entitled to our parents’ money,but getting it through dubious means is incontrovertibly morally wrong. For many who ‘gbaa’ their parents,they try to justify their actions giving increased expenditure as excuse. It is understandable that the cost of living in school is high,yet one has to tread carefully when trying to inflate prices for one’s parents. It should be noted that our parents will do anything to make us happy and comfortable in school,if for no reason at all,at least to prevent us from turning to detestable vices. It is no surprise therefore, that they occasionally fall hook,line,and sinker for our ‘money lies’. As for me,I advise that we should be circumspect in our demand for money from our parents, keeping in mind that our children will even do worse if we are inconsiderate with our own parents. I advise that we are mindful of the fact that our parents work themselves out to fend for us,thus we shouldn’t be frivolous in our spending. Prudence is of essence.

    Growing one’s business with one’s parents’ money is not a bad idea. But I believe that deciding to own a business at a young age,Folake must have been triggered by a zealous and enthusiastic spirit, and of course by a desire to be independent. I think being a successful entrepreneur most times requires that one can sustain himself,and this requires that one doesn’t have to ask others for money at all times. I’m certain that the desire to be your own boss must have spurred you into business. Extorting money from your parents is no way of being a boss of yourself. Of course,you may need their aid at some point. There’s no doubt about that. But entrepreneurship is where frugality,sound judgement,discretion and good management come to play.

  7. My opinion about bloating prices when asking our parents for money is very simple. The fact that we are indeed our parents’ children and as such we are meant to be spent on, doesn’t give us any rights to cheat them. I am not so much of a spender, I am actually economical and at times thrifty. But when I realised that my pocket money was becoming too small, I begged my dad to increase it and he did actually! So I don’t really think that ‘gbaaing’ is necessary. We just have to understand our parents and their capabilities. Let’s not stretch them beyond their limits.

Leave a Reply

