IMG-20141007-WA0011IMG-20141007-WA0012Hustle Of Life
You know what they say about sometimes finding inspiration in the weirdest things and places, I never knew how right that was until I finally experienced it for myself. Earlier today I was thinking of something to blog about and no matter how hard I tried, nothing came. Then my roommate picks up this….I like to call it ghana-must-go of clothes and says: “Kene, bye bye, I’m off to go and wash” and there was all the inspiration I needed. Watching her leave, I just couldn’t stop laughing!
Now, to help you understand why I couldn’t stop laughing at the absurdity of the whole situation and why inspiration would come from a very silly thing as a bag of dirty clothes, I would tell you a story: Our hostel can be classified as one of the best in Unilag in terms of cleanliness and management, yet it’s conditions are still very unfavorable. The newest addition to this unfavorable condition, happens to be the lack of water. Water, to us, has become something you practically have to tell God about in your morning prayers to obtain and even when it is available, one has to go through the stress of climbing stairs and walking lengths to get. Our supply of  water, most times however, is from this algae-floored tap downstairs that gets its own supply from a rusted iron leaking tank just beside it. And that was where my roomie was going to wash her bag of clothes.

You should see the place! Aside from the fact that it was messed up with stagnant water and disgusting looking gutters, the tap was also located near an over flowing dump site that housed rats of all sizes and further perfumed with the repugnant smell of decaying foodstuffs and debris; I mean, breathing in that place was almost next to impossible, sometimes I even feel I could go blind from the site alone! And we all washed there nonetheless because washing in the bathrooms was considered as a sin by the management.
And that was why I couldn’t stop laughing, because I couldn’t just imagine how she was going to pull off washing that bag of clothes in such an unconducive environment. I really still try to fathom how we survive in fetching water from there – both bathing and cooking. Then washing clothes there without falling sick, is still a big mystery to me; the only possible explanation I can think of for it, is that we Nigerians, can withstand just about anything since we’ve been living in this kind of harsh environment for as long as I could remember.
And yes, we have to endure these conditions we’ve unfortunately been thrust into in with little or nothing to do to improve our plights. All we could basically do, is hope and pray fervently that it will get better; that one day we would have hostels that can provide each rooms with their own bathrooms and toilets. That some day, we will have a government whose priority is to ensure that university students are well catered for, comfortable and live in a germ-free environ. We are also praying that one day, we will have hostel managers that really have students at heart. People that will we be sympathetic to the plight of students and sensitive to the harsh conditions we’ve been forced to live in even as we bag our various certificates.
And as I prayed all these in my hearts, God’s word came to mind:
“We are experiencing trouble on every side, but are not crushed; we are perplexed, but not driven to despair; 9 we are persecuted, but not abandoned; we are knocked down, but not destroyed, 10 always carrying around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be made visible in our body.”
2 Cor 4:8-10
And I was reminded that His grace is made sufficient in our various weakness and in our hustle for survival.
It is well with Nigeria!

2 thoughts on “Hustle Tuesday

Leave a Reply

